Skip to content

County of Los Angeles Public Library
donate
twitter  facebook  instagram pinterest  flickr 
career online high school

Sept/Oct 2017 Collection Spotlight

Here are some great titles for your reading and listening pleasure as selected by the staff of Collection Development Services. Selections include children’s picture books and fiction celebrating humanity and diversity; asking the question of who will take care of a neighbor's garden once they move away; and two classmates out to solve a mystery. Nonfiction for kids includes titles for coding and science experimentation. Listen to children’s audiobooks about a young girl out to rescue her grandmother from an evil emperor and three travelers in 1242 France trading stories about miraculous children and their dog. Teen fiction selections include siblings investigating their classmates and a girl and her family escaping the cartel in Juarez. Adult fiction selections include the tribulations of being a kindergarten class mom and a writer’s plot beginning to mirror her own life. Nonfiction readers will learn about the nomadic life of older Americans, Action Bronson’s passion for eating well, and ways introverts can be successful without always “leaning in.” Our Spanish nonfiction selections include guides for learning how to use drones and 3D printers.

Find more reading suggestions at Books & Media.

 Why Am I Me? book jacket

Why Am I Me? by Paige Britt

Presented as a thoughtful, poetic exchange between two characters -- who don't realize they are thinking and asking the very same questions -- this beautiful celebration of our humanity and diversity invites readers of all ages to imagine a world where there is no you or me, only we.

Picture Book

 The Forever Garden book jacket

The Forever Garden by Laurel Snyder

Every day, Honey tends her garden, thinning the lettuces, pulling up beets, and even singing to the kale. (Honey says if you listen carefully, you can hear the kale singing back!) Laurel, the little girl who lives next door, likes to help, weeding the rows, washing vegetables under the pump, and gathering speckled eggs from the chicken coop. But one day there is a FOR SALE sign in Honey's front yard. Honey's mother is sick, and she is moving away! What will happen to Honey's garden? And what will Laurel do without her friend? Here is a touching story that beautifully illustrates how friendship—just like a garden—grows.

Picture Book

 Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus book jacket

Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus by Dusti Bowling

Aven Green was born without arms—so when her dad takes a job running a dying western theme park in Arizona, she knows she’ll become the center of unwanted attention at her new school. But she bonds with Connor, a classmate with his own disability to conquer. Then they discover a room at the park that holds bigger secrets than Aven ever could have imagined. Can Aven face her fears, solve a mystery, and help her friend, too?

Children's Fiction

 Two Truths and a Lie: It's Alive! book jacket

Two Truths and a Lie: It's Alive! by Ammi-Joan Paquette

Blends strange but true facts about the natural world with a handful of fictional accounts, challenging readers to discover which two out of every three stories are true.

Children's Nonfiction

 Get Coding!: Learn HTML, CSS, and JavaScript and Build a Website, App and Game book jacket

Get Coding!: Learn HTML, CSS, and JavaScript and Build a Website, App and Game by Young Rewired State

Crack open this book and set off on several fun missions -- while simultaneously learning the basics of writing code. Want to make a website from scratch? Create an app? Build a game? All the tools are here, laid out in a user-friendly format that leads kids on an imaginary quest to keep a valuable diamond safe from dangerous jewel thieves. Presented by Young Rewired State in easy-to-follow, bite-size chunks, the real-life coding skills taught in this engaging, comprehensive guide may just set young readers on the path to becoming technology stars of the future.

Children's Nonfiction

 How to Be a Scientist  book jacket

How to Be a Scientist  by Steve Mould

Why does mold grow? Why is the sea salty? What makes day and night? Kids can have all these questions answered as they learn how to think like a scientist and look at the world to figure out how science works. More than 40 simple activities have undetermined answers, encouraging curious young readers to find new ways to test ideas, and fun questions, games, and real-life scenarios make scientific concepts fun and relevant. The stories of the great scientists and their discoveries--and failures--are told in an entertaining way to provide even further inspiration for little budding scientists.

Children's Nonfiction

 When the Sea Turned to Silver book jacket

When the Sea Turned to Silver by Grace Lin

Pinmei's grandmother always has the most exciting tales for the villagers. However, the peace is shattered one night when soldiers of the Emperor arrive and kidnap the storyteller. Determined to have her grandmother returned, Pinmei embarks on a journey alongside her friend Yishan, a mysterious boy who seems to have his own secrets to hide. Also available in: eBook.

Children's Audiobook on CD

 The Inquisitor's Tale book jacket

The Inquisitor's Tale by Adam Gidwitz

1242. On a dark night, travelers from across France cross paths at an inn and begin to tell stories of three children: William, an oblate on a mission from his monastery; Jacob, a Jewish boy who has fled his burning village; and Jeanne, a peasant girl who hides her prophetic visions. Also available in: eBook and eAudiobook.

Children's Audiobook on CD

 Martians Abroad book jacket

Martians Abroad by Carrie Vaughn

Fearing her dream of becoming a galaxy-traveling starship pilot will never come true when she is sent to Earth's Galileo Academy, Polly teams up with her popular brother Charles to investigate dangerous coincidences centered on their high-profile classmates. Crossover novel for both children and adults this homage to Robert Heinlein is a great read for science fiction and action/adventure fans. Also available in: eBook.

Teen Fiction

 Disappeared book jacket

Disappeared by Francisco X. Stork

Four months ago Sara Zapata's best friend, Linda, disappeared from the streets of Juarez, and ever since Sara has been using her job as a reporter to draw attention to the girls who have been kidnapped by the criminals who control the city. Now she and her family are being threatened while her younger brother, Emiliano, is being lured into the narcotics business by the promise of big money. Soon the only way for both of them to escape is to risk the dangerous trek across the desert to the United States border. A tense thriller for teen and adult fans of true crime stories. Star Reviews

Teen Fiction

 Class Mom book jacket

Class Mom by Laurie Gelman

Frowned upon by conservative fellow PTA members for her past as a single parent, Jen reluctantly agrees to become class mom during her youngest child's kindergarten year, a role that is challenged by parent drama, hypersensitive allergies, and a former flame. A debut with plenty of snark and attitude for fans of true-mom confessions. Star Review. Also available in: eBook and eAudiobook.

Adult Fiction

 Lies She Told book jacket

Lies She Told by Cate Holahan

With only 30 days to write the thriller that could put her back on the best-seller list, Liza Cole, obsessed with her latest heroine, finds the lines between reality and fiction beginning to blur as she must face up to the truths about the people around her, including herself, when her own husband is accused of murder. An intriguing psychological thriller for fans of Paula Hawkins or Gillian Flynn. Also available in: eBook and eAudiobook.

Adult Fiction

 Nomadland: Surviving America in the 21st Century book jacket

Nomadland: Surviving America in the 21st Century by Jessica Bruder

From the beet fields of North Dakota to the National Forest campgrounds of California to Amazon's CamperForce program in Texas, employers have discovered a new, low-cost labor pool, made up largely of transient older Americans. These invisible casualties of the Great Recession have taken to the road by the tens of thousands in late-model RVs, travel trailers, and vans, forming a growing community of nomads. In a secondhand vehicle she christens "Van Halen," journalist Jessica Bruder hits the road to get to know her subjects more intimately. She tells a compelling, eye-opening tale of the dark underbelly of the American economy--one that foreshadows the precarious future that may await many more of us. Also available in: eBook.

Adult Nonfiction

 F*ck That’s Delicious: An Annotated Guide to Eating Well book jacket

F*ck That’s Delicious: An Annotated Guide to Eating Well by Action Bronson

This is Action Bronson's devotional, a book about the overwhelming power of delicious--no, flippin’ amazing--food. Bronson is this era's Homer, and F*ck, That's Delicious is a modern-day Odyssey, replete with orgiastic recipes, world travel, siren songs, and weed. Packed with images and unlike any book in the entire galaxy, Bronson includes 40-plus recipes inspired by his childhood, family, tours, and travels. Journey from bagels with cheese that represent familial love to the sex and Big Macs of upstate New York fat camp and ultimately to the world's most coveted five-star temples of gastronomy. And: the tacos in LA. The best Dominican chimis. Jamaican jerk. Hand-rolled pasta from Mario. Secrets to good eating from Massimo. Meyhem Lauren's Chicken Patty Potpie. And more! more! more!

Adult Nonfiction

 Hiding in the Bathroom: An Introvert’s Roadmap to Getting Out There When You’d Rather Stay Home book jacket

Hiding in the Bathroom: An Introvert’s Roadmap to Getting Out There When You’d Rather Stay Home by Morra Aarons-Mele

From the marketing guru and host of the popular podcast Hiding in the Bathroom, a breakthrough introverts' guide that broadens the conversation sparked by Quiet and moves away from the "Lean In" approach, offering wisdom and practical tips to help readers build strong relationships and achieve their own definition of professional success. Hiding in the Bathroom is her antidote for everyone who is fed up with feeling like they must always "lean in"--who prefer those moments of hiding in the bathroom to constantly climbing the ladder or working the room. Filled with advice, exercises to help readers evaluate their own work/life fit and manage anxiety, valuable tools, and stories of countless successful people--entrepreneurs, academics, and novices just beginning their careers—Aarons-Mele empowers professionals of all ages and levels to take control and build their own versions of success.

Adult Nonfiction

 La Guía Completa de Drones: Construir, Elegir, Volar, Fotografiar book jacket

La Guía Completa de Drones: Construir, Elegir, Volar, Fotografiar by Adam Juniper

This is the “everything you need to know” guide for those interested in drones._x000D_ Esta es la guía con todo lo que necesitas saber para todos aquellos interesados en drones.

Spanish Nonfiction

 La Impresión 3D book jacket

La Impresión 3D by Mathilde Berchon

This is a user guide on how 3D printers work and their different applications._x000D_ Esta es una guía de usuario sobre cómo funcionan las impresoras 3D y sus diferentes aplicaciones.

Spanish Nonfiction