Skip to content

County of Los Angeles Public Library
donate
twitter  facebook  instagram pinterest  flickr 
career online high school

Nov / Dec Collection Spotlight

Here are some great titles for your reading and listening pleasure as selected by the staff of Collection Development Services. Highlights include children’s books about shipwrecked robot that leans to communicate with the island’s animals, a fascinating book about the giant squid, and a historical account of a revolutionary baker and his gingerbread cookies (with the recipe!). Audiobooks for teens about a humanoid teenager held hostage during a rebellion and how the Rain brothers are humanity’s only hope during war. Fiction for teens include a WWII account of fighting in Four-Four-Two Japanese American regiment and how Love attempts to meddle, then fix a heartbroken Gael. Two holiday fiction for adults involve a homeless cat that realizes a village needs a Christmas miracle and of a woman’s long time crush reentering her life with the hopes that a wish and mistletoe will do the trick. Nonfiction readers will learn about Iggy Pop’s iconic group The Stooges, Carrie Fisher’s adventures on the Star Wars sets and struggles with bipolar disorder, the glamorous actresses during Hollywood’s Golden Age, and about the innovations created to entertain ourselves. Our Spanish nonfiction selections provide health tips and information covering common illnesses affecting Latinos and how to improve eye health and vision.

Find more reading suggestions at Books & Media.

 The Wild Robot book jacket

The Wild Robot by Peter Brown

After a shipwreck, robot Roz ends up on an island. Observing, learning, and helping, she is eventually able to communicate with the animals and becomes a beloved member of the island community. Beguiling and full of hope – this is one of this year’s best. Tip: Read the print version. Brown is an exceptional artist and his arresting illustrations enhance the humor, adventure, and emotions of the story. Also available in: eBook and Audiobook.

Children's Fiction

 Giant Squid book jacket

Giant Squid by Candace Fleming

This is an evocative exploration of some of the mysterious, terrifying, and fascinating aspects of this deep-sea denizen. Beautiful paintings illustrate the murky depths and what we know about this elusive animal. This is a book you will definitely want to read again.

Children's Nonfiction

 Gingerbread for Liberty! book jacket

Gingerbread for Liberty! by Mara Rockliff

When revolution is in the air, can a baker make a difference? Yes! The story of Christopher Ludwick, with illustrations that look like iced gingerbread cookies, is a tale of passionate patriotism for his adopted country. Read this inspiring and humorous book and then make cookies from the recipe included on the end papers!

Children's Nonfiction

 Diabolic book jacket

Diabolic by S. J. Kincaid

Nemesis is a Diabolic, a humanoid teenager created to protect a galactic senator's daughter, Sidonia. When the Emperor learns Sidonia's father is participating in a rebellion, he summons Sidonia to Court to serve as a hostage. Now, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Also available in: eBook.

Young Adult Audiobook

 The Rains book jacket

The Rains by Gregg Hurwitz

In one terrifying night, the peaceful community of Creek's Cause turns into a war zone. Chance Rain and his older brother, Patrick, have already fended off multiple attacks from infected adults by the time they arrive at the school where others are hiding. A parasite that transforms people into ferocious inhuman beings takes hold at 18 and Patrick's birthday is only a few days away. The brothers become humanity's only hope for salvation. Also available in: eBook.

Young Adult Audiobook

 Four-Four-Two book jacket

Four-Four-Two by Dean Hughes

Forced into an internment camp at the start of World War II, eighteen-year-old Yuki enlists in the Army to fight for the Allies as a member of the "Four-Four-Two," a segregated Japanese American regiment. Before Yuki returns home—if he returns home—he’ll come face to face with persistent prejudices, grueling combat he never imagined, and friendships deeper than he knew possible. Star Review. Also available in: eBook.

Teen Fiction

 The Romantics book jacket

The Romantics by Leah Konen

When his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents' painful separation, seventeen-year-old Gael Brennan is heartbroken until Love intervenes. For fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell.

Teen Fiction

 Oliver the Cat Who Saved Christmas book jacket

Oliver the Cat Who Saved Christmas by Sheila Norton

Oliver the cat is timid and rarely ventures from his home in the Foresters' Arms. Then his life changes dramatically when a fire breaks out in the pub kitchen. He's left homeless and afraid, but with the kindness of the humans around him, he soon learns to trust again. However, it isn't until he meets a little girl in desperate need of a friend that he realizes this village needs a Christmas miracle.

Adult Fiction

 The Trouble With Mistletoe book jacket

The Trouble With Mistletoe by Jill Shalvis

When Keane Winters, the man she has had a crush on for years, walks back into her life-- and into her pet shop--Willa Davis is determined to make him never forget her again and throws a coin in the fountain, making a special wish and letting the mistletoe do its work. Also available in: eBook.

Adult Fiction

 The Princess Diarist book jacket

The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher

The best-selling author of Postcards From the Edge and Hollywood icon best known for her role as Princess Leia shares interconnected essays exploring her life as the child of Tinseltown royalty, adventures on the sets of Star Wars and struggles with bipolar disorder. Also available in: eBook and Audiobook.

Adult Nonfiction

 Wonderland: How Play Made the Modern World book jacket

Wonderland: How Play Made the Modern World by Steven Johnson

Wonderland takes a look at the world-changing innovations we made while keeping ourselves entertained. This lushly illustrated history of popular entertainment takes a long-zoom approach, contending that the pursuit of novelty and wonder is a powerful driver of world-shaping technological change. Steven Johnson argues that, throughout history, the cutting edge of innovation lies wherever people are working the hardest to keep themselves and others amused. He introduces us to the colorful innovators of leisure: the explorers, proprietors, showmen, and artists who changed the trajectory of history with their luxurious wares, exotic meals, taverns, gambling tables, and magic shows. Johnson compellingly argues that observers of technological and social trends should be looking for clues in novel amusements. You'll find the future wherever people are having the most fun.

Adult Nonfiction

 Total Chaos: The Story of the Stooges book jacket

Total Chaos: The Story of the Stooges by Iggy Pop, et al

This is the first book telling Iggy Pop's story of The Stooges in his own words. Grammy winning editor and avid music historian Jeff Gold spent two days at the rock legend's home sharing pictures and memorabilia from his collection. Featuring a trove of unseen photos, TOTAL CHAOS shows and tells, with the help of best-selling author Jon Savage, the story of The Stooges (inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2010) from those tell-all interviews.

Adult Nonfiction

 I Loved Her in the Movies: Memories of Hollywood's Legendary Actresses book jacket

I Loved Her in the Movies: Memories of Hollywood's Legendary Actresses by Robert Wagner

In a career that has spanned more than sixty years, Robert Wagner has witnessed the twilight of the Golden Age of Hollywood and the rise of television, becoming a beloved star in both media. During that time he became acquainted, both professionally and socially, with the remarkable women who were the greatest screen personalities of their day. I Loved Her in the Movies is his intimate and revealing account of the charisma of these women on film, why they became stars, and how their specific emotional and dramatic chemistries affected the choices they made as actresses as well as the choices they made as women. Also available in: eBook and Audiobook.

Adult Nonfiction

 Mejora Tu Salud de Poquito a Poco: Una Guía Completa de Bienestar para Ti y Tu Familia book jacket

Mejora Tu Salud de Poquito a Poco: Una Guía Completa de Bienestar para Ti y Tu Familia by Juan J. Rivera

Dr. Rivera covers the illnesses affecting Latinos the most and provides instruction on how to take control of one’s health. El doctor Rivera cubre las enfermedades que afectan a la mayoría de latinos y proporciona instrucciones sobre cómo tomar control de su salud.

Spanish Nonfiction

 Ve Bien y Vive Mejor book jacket

Ve Bien y Vive Mejor by Meir Schneider

This is guide to improving one’s vision. Esta es la guía para mejorar su visión.

Spanish Nonfiction